Full Moon of Sonia

Full Moon of Sonia

Available from:
CD Baby

How to Buy

“Full Moon of Sonia” is a celebration of the life and work of a cultural icon and national treasure of Sonia Sanchez, affectionately and deservedly known as the “Poet Laureate of the Planet.” It fuses a wide range of musical styles with the poetry of Sonia Sanchez in a groundbreaking CD that underscores Sanchez’s contribution to poetry and performance in the 20th century. Further, her unique performance style serves as a reminder of her impact on the oral tradition in African-American literature.

Her influence is far-reaching and wide ranging and can be heard in such artists as Mos Def, Jill Scott, Talib, Rakin, to name a few. She has been a guest artist on albums with greats such as Diana Ross and has collaborated with such artists as Eric Benet. Her latest album, the first in 25 years, reflects a diverse offering of musical and poetic styles that spans R&B, Jazz, Afro-Cuban, Gospel, and Hip-Hop. This breakthrough CD marks a new plateau in a career that stretches over four decades. On this CD, Ms. Sanchez has assembled some of the finest composers, musicians, and vocalists working in music today.

Track Listing

  1. Catch the Fire (for Bill Cosby) (preview track)
  2. Good Morning Sex (preview track)
  3. Haiku 1 (preview track)
  4. Towhomitmayconcern (Full Moon of Sonia) (preview track)
  5. Poem To Some Women/Leak in This Old Building (preview track)
  6. Poem #10/Hold Me (preview track)
  7. Bubba (preview track)
  8. Interlude: PoemFinder (preview track)
  9. For Langston/I’ve Known Rivers (preview track)
  10. Blues 1/Blues 2 (preview track)
  11. Tupac (preview track)
  12. Song #2/Mother’s Child (preview track)
  13. Ballad (preview track)
  14. Love Poem (preview track)
  15. Haiku 2 (preview track)
  16. I Have Walked a Long Time (preview track)
  17. He/She (preview track)
  18. Under a Soprano Sky (preview track)